2010 british general election notes

Somehow or other, a Green terra-ist managed to smuggle herself into the British Parliament. On the other hand, Zac Goldsmith has struck a blow for green capitalism: a nicer, kinder form of exploitation. Mad Cap’n Tom has failed to be elected in London, which fact confirms that booty must be stolen, not obtained through the electoral franchise. As for Napoleon Dynamite (Monster Raving Loony Party), he failed to explode at the ballot. A worrying decline in the Loony vote was also apparent in Derbyshire Dales as Nick The Flying Brick Delves‘s vote plummeted to a mere 0.5%, half the amount gained in 2005. Gabriela Irimia’s ex-boyfriend Lembit Öpik lost his seat in Montgomeryshire, although how the cheeky girl feels about it — I dunno. Finally, my favourite candidate in this election was almost certainly Nusret Sen of the Direct Democracy (Communist) Party. He got 202 votes in Hackney South & Shoreditch, an increase of 0.5% on the 0.0% received in 2005, and also almost double the number of votes received by Paul Davies of the Communist League. Sadly, Meg Hillier of the bourgeois workers’ party otherwise known as the Labour Party gained 22,825 votes, or 54.6%.

First of all, while commenting on specific policies, let us make one major policy point: Direct Democracy means each one of us work 4 hours a day, and another 4 hours is worked to run the state machinery, to formulate the polices and to ensure that these policies are being implemented. In other words all policies will be decided by the British people, not us as a party. As a party our duty is to create the economic, political and social conditions for direct democracy!


It’s dog versus dog and socialist against socialist…

    Camberwell & Peckham

    Jenny Jones Green 1,361 2.9 -1.7
    Yohara Robby Munilla English Democrats 435 0.9 +0.9
    Joshua Ogunleye Workers Revolutionary Party 211 0.5 +0.2
    Margaret Sharkey Socialist Labour Party 184 0.4 +0.1
    Decima Francis Independent 93 0.2 +0.2
    Steven Robbins Independent 87 0.2 +0.2
    Patricia Knox Independent 82 0.2 +0.2
    Jill Mountford Alliance for Workers’ Liberty 75 0.2 +0.2

    Manchester Central

    Tony Trebilcock British National Party 1,636 4.1 +4.1
    Gayle O’Donovan Green 915 2.3 -1.9
    Nicola Weatherill UK Independence Party 607 1.5 -0.3
    Ron Sinclair Socialist Labour Party 153 0.4 -0.2
    John Cartwright Independent 120 0.3 +0.3
    Jonty Leff Workers Revolutionary Party 59 0.1 +0.1
    Robert Skelton Socialist Equality 54 0.1 +0.1

A gold * award to Caroline Bellamy of the Communist League. In her attempt to topple Nick Smith in Edinburgh South West, Bellamy gained 48 votes, or 0.1%, the lowest number of votes recorded by any ‘far left’ candidate. Partial credit for the award must also go to Clare Cooney (Green: 872 votes, or 1.9%) and Colin Fox (Scottish Socialist Party: 319 votes, or 0.7%).

About @ndy

I live in Melbourne, Australia. I like anarchy. I don't like nazis. I enjoy eating pizza and drinking beer. I barrack for the greatest football team on Earth: Collingwood Magpies. The 2020 premiership's a cakewalk for the good old Collingwood.
This entry was posted in Anti-fascism, State / Politics, Trot Guide and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to 2010 british general election notes

  1. the Direct Democracy (Communist) Party is great … claiming in their election leaflet that Hackney can become Athens 😉

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.