[#19BOS] List of Biennale of Sydney artistes w contact deets

Update (March 7) : Late this afternoon the Biennale Board announced the resignation of its chair, Luca Belgiorno-Nettis, and the immediate suspension of its contract with its major sponsor, Transfield.

Briefly: this is a potentially significant step forward in the campaign to close the offshore prison camps, the murderous hellholes to which the Australian state confines thousands of asylum seekers. The camps generate both enormous harm for their inmates and very large incomes for the companies which run them, including Transfield. They operate in violation of both international law and basic human decency. Given the massively profitable nature of the industry, bi-partisan political, elite and strong popular support for the policy of mandatory detention, however, their closure remains a distant prospect at this stage …

Update (March 5) : Today four more artists — Nathan Gray, Agnieszka Polska, Sara van der Heide and Nicoline van Harskamp — have decided to boycott Transfield’s Biennale (read their statement here). Otherwise: ABC’s Radio National has been brought on board by the corporation, while several workers employed by the Biennale have also chosen to withdraw their labour.

The Transfield Biennale of Sydney begins March 21, one day before the Sydney Anarchist Bookfair.


The following is an A-Z list of the roughly 100 artistes scheduled to exhibit on behalf of Transfield and, where possible, contact details.

As of this date [February 28: see Update] 5 artistes — Libia Castro, Ólafur Ólafsson, Gabrielle de Vietri, Ahmet Öğüt and Charlie Sofo — have withdrawn from the Biennale, while 47 [*] have signed an open letter of complaint to the Board re Transfield’s owner/sponsorship of the event. The 5 will presumably be joined by a number of other artistes in the intervening period, though how many is an open question. In any case, given that the Biennale runs over several months, there’ll be multiple opportunities to take action against it and to draw further attention to Transfield’s billion-dollar exploitation of refugees, as well as to promote a campaign of boycott, divestment and disruption of the state-corporate machinery directly perpetuating human rights abuses.

Or not …


Sauce : #19BOS | See : Boycott Sydney Biennale | xb Ops


*Meriç Algün Ringborg [[email protected]]
*James Angus [rep by Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery: [email protected]]
*Sol Archer [facebook // [email protected]]
*Benjamin Armstrong [rep by Tolarno Galleries (facebook): [email protected]]


*Rosa Barba
*Yael Bartana [rep by Petzel Gallery: [email protected] (press liaison)]
*Martin Boyce [rep by Tanya Bonakdar Gallery: [email protected]]
Broersen & Lukács
*Eglė Budvytytė [?]


Mircea Cantor [[email protected]]
Janet Cardiff and George Bures Miller [[email protected]]
*Libia Castro and Ólafur Ólafsson
David Claerbout [rep by Galerie Micheline Szwajcer: [email protected]]
Bindi Cole [twitter]
*Nathan Coley
Joost Conijn
Michael Cook
Henry Coombes
Hubert Czerepok [rep by Zak Gallery: [email protected]]


Kate Daw [rep by Sarah Scout Presents: [email protected]]
*Gabrielle de Vietri
Tacita Dean [rep by Marian Goodman Gallery: twitter | facebook // rep by Frith Street Gallery: [email protected]]
Yingmei Duan [[email protected]]
*Mikala Dwyer [rep by Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery: [email protected] // Anna Schwartz Gallery: [email protected]]


*Krisztina Erdei [[email protected]]


*Fine Art Union [facebook // [email protected] // [email protected]]
Aurélien Froment [rep by Marcelle Alix: [email protected]]
*Søren Thilo Funder [[email protected]]
*Bodil Furu [[email protected]]


Douglas Gordon [rep by Gagosian Gallery: [email protected]]
*Nathan Gray [twitter // [email protected]]
*Joseph Griffiths [[email protected]]
*Ane Hjort Guttu [[email protected]]


*Hadley+Maxwell [[email protected]]
Henrik Håkansson
*Henna-Riikka Halonen [[email protected] // [email protected]]
*Siri Hermansen [[email protected]]
*Bianca Hester [facebook]
*Matt Hinkley [[email protected]]
Roni Horn [?]
*Sasha Huber [[email protected]]


Agnieszka Kalinowska [rep by BWA Warszawa: [email protected]]
*Mikhail Karikis [[email protected]]
*Tamás Kaszás
*Deborah Kelly
Eva Koch [[email protected]]
Ignas Krunglevicius [twitter]


Jim Lambie
*Sonia Leber and David Chesworth [[email protected]]
Gabriel Lester [twitter // [email protected]]
Norman Leto [facebook]
Zilla Leutenegger
Victoria Pihl Lind [?]
Ann Lislegaard [[email protected]]
Liu Bingye and Zhang Wenhua [?]
Marko Lulić [[email protected]]


*Ross Manning [[email protected]]
Renzo Martens
*Daniel McKewen [twitter // [email protected]]
*Angelica Mesiti [[email protected]]
Laurent Montaron [rep by Schleicher Lange: [email protected]]
TV Moore [[email protected]]
*Callum Morton [rep by Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery: [email protected]]


Susan Norrie [Norrie sits on the Board of MCA: [email protected] (media & public relations)]


*Ahmet Öğüt
Mel O’Callaghan [[email protected]]


Tinka Pittoors [[email protected]]
Mathias Poledna [rep by Galerie Meyer Kainer: [email protected]]
*Agnieszka Polska


Randi & Katrine
Augustin Rebetez and Noé Cauderay
Pipilotti Rist
Ugo Rondinone [rep by Sadie Coles: [email protected]]
Maxime Rossi [[email protected]]
*Eva Rothschild [rep by 303 Gallery: [email protected]]
*Emily Roysdon [twitter // [email protected]]


Yhonnie Scarce [twitter]
Wael Shawky [rep by Sfeir-Semler Gallery: [email protected]/[email protected]]
Ann-Sofi Sidén and Jonathan Bepler [facebook]
*Charlie Sofo [twitter]
Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger [[email protected]]
John Stezaker [rep by Richard Gray Gallery: [email protected]]
Christine Streuli [rep by Galerie Rupert Pfab: [email protected]]
Taca Sui
*Corin Sworn [rep by Zeiher Smith:[email protected]]


*Shannon Te Ao [twitter]
Anna Tuori [[email protected]]


*Sara van der Heide [[email protected]]
Nicoline van Harskamp [[email protected]]
Ulla Von Brandenburg [rep by Pilar Corrias // facebook]


*Emily Wardill [rep by Jonathan Viner: [email protected]]
*Tori Wrånes


Zhao Zhao [rep by Alexander Ochs Galleries: [email protected]]

[NB. The following artistse signed the Open Letter to the Board of the Sydney Biennale From Participating Artists: Meriç Algün Ringborg, James Angus, Sol Archer, Benjamin Armstrong, Rosa Barba, Yael Bartana, Martin Boyce, Eglė Budvytytė, Libia Castro, David Chesworth, Nathan Coley, Gabrielle de Vietri, Mikala Dwyer, Krisztina Erdei, Søren Thilo Funder, Bodil Furu, Nathan Gray, Joseph Griffiths, Ane Hjort Guttu, Hadley+Maxwell, Henna-Riikka Halonen, Siri Hermansen, Bianca Hester, Matt Hinkley, Sasha Huber, Annette Stav Johanssen (Fine Art Union), Mikhail Karikis, Tamas Kaszas, Deborah Kelly, Sonia Leber, Ross Manning, Daniel McKewen, Angelica Mesiti, Callum Morton, Ahmet Öğüt, Ólafur Ólafsson, Agnieszka Polska, Eva Rothschild, Emily Roysdon, Charlie Sofo, Corin Sworn, Shannon Te Ao, Sara van der Heide, Emily Wardill, Synnøve G. Wetten (Fine Art Union), Tori Wrånes.]

About @ndy

I live in Melbourne, Australia. I like anarchy. I don't like nazis. I enjoy eating pizza and drinking beer. I barrack for the greatest football team on Earth: Collingwood Magpies. The 2024 premiership's a cakewalk for the good old Collingwood.
This entry was posted in Art, Death, History, Media, State / Politics, That's Capitalism! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [#19BOS] List of Biennale of Sydney artistes w contact deets

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.